WIBW.com Mobile Site >> Sports
All-MIAA Baseball Team Released

Posted: 7:00 PM May 9, 2013
Reporter: MIAA, posted by Kinch O'Kelley

Kansas City, Mo. -- MIAA Champion Missouri Western had five players earn first team All-MIAA honors on the team released today. The teams comes out as four teams meet in Kansas City, Kan. to decide the MIAA Tournament Championship.

The MIAA Player of the Year is Missouri Western shortstop and leadoff hitter Michael Schulze. Schulze was second in the MIAA hitting .445 while scoring a league best 63 runs. The MIAA Pitcher of the Year was Schulze's teammate Brandon Simmons, who established a new MIAA career wins record this season. He was first in the MIAA among starting pitcher with a 2.80 earned run average and led the league with 10 victories.

The MIAA Freshman of the Year was Nebraska-Kearney's Anthony Pacheco. Pacheco hit .327 on the year for the Lopers scored 33 runs and driving in 33 runs. The Coach of the Year was Buzz Verduzco who captained the Missouri Western Griffons to an MIAA Championship.

Joining Simmons on the first team pitcher staff were Central Oklahoma's Edgar Lopez and Pittsburg State's Matt Stalcup. Central Missouri's Andrew Urban who led the MIAA in ERA out of the bullpen earned first team honors at relief pitcher.

The first team All-MIAA catcher is Chase Grakewicz of Central Missouri. Mike Failoni of Lindenwood, who established a new MIAA single season batting average record, is on the squad at first base. Missouri Western earned the rest of the infield spots as Jimmy Smelcer earned the honor at second, Schulze at shortstop and Grant Fink at third base.

In the outfield Cody Robinson of Northeastern State, Kevin Gratza of Central Missouri and Bubba Dotson of Missouri Western all earned the honor. The first team designated hitter comes from Fort Hays State in Horace Johnson while Nebraska-Kearney's Brian Wuest earned first team utility player honors.

Player of the Year: Michael Schulze, SS, Missouri Western
Pitcher of the Year: Brandon Simmons, P, Missouri Western
Freshman of the Year: Anthony Pacheco, OF, Nebraska-Kearney
Coach of the Year: Buzz Verduzco, Missouri Western

First Team
Starting Pitcher: Edgar Lopez, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Starting Pitcher: Matt Stalcup, Sr., Pittsburg State
Starting Pitcher: Brandon Simmons, Sr., Missouri Western
Relief Pitcher: Andrew Urban, Sr., Central Missouri
Catcher: Chase Graskewicz, Sr., Central Missouri
First Base: Mike Failoni, Jr., Lindenwood**
Second Base: Jimmy Smelcer, Sr., Missouri Western
Shortstop: Michael Schulze, Jr., Missouri Western**
Third Base: Grant Fink, Sr., Missouri Western**
Outfield: Cody Robinson, Jr., Northeastern State
Outfield: Kevin Gratza, Jr., Central Missouri
Outfield: Bubba Dotson, Sr., Missouri Western
Designated Hitter: Horace Johnson, Jr., Fort Hays State
Utility: Brian Wuest, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
**= Unanimous Selection

Second Team
Starting Pitcher: Travis Higgs, Jr., Central Missouri
Starting Pitcher: Dakota McKaskle, Jr., Emporia State
Starting Pitcher: Brett Abell, Sr., Missouri Southern
Relief Pitcher: Trevor Walch, Sr., Northeastern State
Catcher: Sam Ryan, Sr., Missouri Southern
First Base: John Oropeza, Sr., Central Missouri
Second Base: Michael McCoy, Sr., Missouri Southern
Shortstop: Samuel Domingue, Sr., Central Missouri
Third Base: Eric Dawson, Sr., Emporia State
Outfield: Aaron Rea, Sr., Emporia State
Outfield: Kyle Simpson, Sr., Missouri Western
Outfield: Ryan Abernathy, Jr., Northwest Missouri
Designated Hitter: Eric McGlauflin, Jr., Northwest Missouri
Utility: Kyle Grieshaber, Sr., Central Missouri

Honorable Mention
Starting Pitcher – Ethan Sharp, Central Oklahoma; Tayler Davis, Fort Hays State; Ryan Bates, Missouri Southern; Payton Walker, Missouri Southern; Ryker Fox, Northwest Missouri; George Brandecker, Pittsburg State; Taylor Gentry, Washburn
Relief Pitcher – Jake Heissler, Central Missouri; Logan Hollingsworth, Missouri Western; Ryan McKay, Pittsburg State
Catcher – Mike Wilson, Lindenwood; Jake Schrader, Missouri Western; David Weber, Northeastern State; Jacoby Martin, Pittsburg State
First Base – Spencer Shockley, Missouri Western; Ryan Bilovesky, Pittsburg State; Paul Trenhaile, Truman
Second Base – Jon Cotter, Central Missouri; Blake Sturgeon, Emporia State; Chris Santoscoy, Fort Hays State; Landon Young, Southwest Baptist; Taylor Herrington, Washburn
Shortstop – Cesar Wong, Central Oklahoma; Nathan Pridle, Lindenwood; Kegan Knight, Northeastern State
Third Base – Matt Johnson, Central Oklahoma; Brad Foss, Pittsburg State
Outfield – Tyler Crabtree, Central Oklahoma; Jared Wright, Central Oklahoma; Brad Wilson, Central Missouri; Jordan Slade, Emporia State; Clayton Garland, Fort Hays State; Jordan Miller, Fort Hays State; Colby Shepherd, Lincoln; Wade Rothermich, Lindenwood; Will Wagner, Missouri Southern; Anthony Pacheco, Nebraska-Kearney; Kyle Singleton, Northeastern State; Tory Stoffregen, Pittsburg State; Ryan Ventura, Pittsburg State; Corban Williams, Truman; Parker Gibson, Washburn
Designated Hitter – Matt Malloy, Central Oklahoma
Utility – Ryan Busboom, Fort Hays State; Dallas Burke, Missouri Southern; Nate Ramler, Missouri Western; Blake Marino, Truman
Post a Comment
Send Story to a Friend
Send to Facebook
Share to Twitter

WIBW.com Mobile Site Home


Gray Television, Inc - Copyright 2002-2012 - Powered by Gray Interactive Media