WIBW.com Mobile Site >> Sports
Dixon, Geubelle Earn Spots On Bowerman Watch List

Posted: 2:17 PM Jan 10, 2013
Reporter: KU Sports Information (Posted by J.B. Bauersfeld)

Dixon, Geubelle Earn Spots on Bowerman Watch List

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas track & field’s All-American sprinter Diamond Dixon is one of 10 athletes named to the preseason Bowerman Watch List as was released by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Thursday. Horizontal jumper Andrea Geubelle also finds her name on the prestigious list, as she was placed on the “Also Receiving Mention List.” The Bowerman Award, considered the ‘Heisman of Track & Field,’ is given to the nation's top male and female track & field athletes and will be awarded later this year.

The junior, Dixon, made an appearance on the final Bowerman Watch List last season. She was a gold medalist at the 2012 London Olympics as a member of the U.S. 4×400 relay team after earning four All-America honors in 2012 with an indoor 400-meter national title and a third-place 400 finish outdoors. The Houston, Texas, native was also Kansas’ anchor leg of the third-place indoor and eighth-place outdoor 4×400 relay teams. Last season she set the outdoor 400 school record (50.88) in a fifth-place finish at the U.S. Olympic Team Trials – which made her the fifth-fastest American in the event for 2012 – and broke the indoor school record (51.78) at the NCAA Indoor Championships.

Geubelle, now a senior, is an eight time All-American while at Kansas and is making an appearance on the Bowerman Watch List for the first time. She holds the school records in both the indoor (13.67 meters) and outdoor (13.84 meters) triple jumps, both set at the respective NCAA Championships last season, with the prior earning her the national championship in the event. The University Place, Wash., native was the team’s top scorer at both Big 12 meets last season and garnered conference championships and runner-up finishes in the triple jump and long jump, respectively.

The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track & field athletes in the nation. Past winners include Olympic gold medalist and decathlon world-record holder Ashton Eaton (2010), 10,000-meter Olympic silver medalist Galen Rupp (2009), and 2011 IAAF World Champion in the 1500 meters, Jenny Simpson (2009). For more information on The Bowerman, the award, the trophy and Bill Bowerman himself, visit TheBowerman.org.

Both Geubelle and Dixon will be in action Friday, Jan. 11 at the Jayhawk Challenge inside Anschutz Pavilion, with Dixon making her 2013 debut. The day’s events are scheduled to begin at 3 p.m. and conclude at 7:35 p.m. Updates and results from the meet can be found at KUAthletics.com and on Twitter at @KU_Track.

Post a Comment
See More Photos
Send Story to a Friend
Send to Facebook
Share to Twitter

WIBW.com Mobile Site Home


Gray Television, Inc - Copyright 2002-2012 - Powered by Gray Interactive Media