Elected Officials Take Oaths To Serve Topeka

By: Justin Surrency Email
By: Justin Surrency Email

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW)__In one of the more crowded City Council meetings in quite some time, Topeka welcomed a brand new era of elected city officials.

With his last strike of the gavel, outgoing Mayor Bill Bunten ushered in a new wave of elected officials who will serve the capital city.

Larry Wolgast began his first day as Topeka mayor in front of a packed crowd inside the council chambers. He said, "It's exciting and great for the council and for the city I think.

Once settled in, the new look Topeka City Council, which features women on the majority, made some first day decisions.

District 1 Councilmember Karen Hiller and new District 2 Councilman John Campos were voted by their colleagues to serve on the Metropolitan Topeka Planning Organization board.

New District 5 Councilmember Michelle De La Isla and Councilman Chad Manspeaker will serve as 2013 board members on the Joint Economic Development Organization.

Councilmembers chose Mayor Wolgast as Chair of that same JEDO committe.

Replacing Mayor Wolgast as Deputy Mayor in unanimous fashion is District 3 Councilmember Sylvia Ortiz.

Getting the new group of elected officials to mesh will take time but Mayor Wolgast says the diverse group is great for Topeka.

We have ideas and opinions and represent different areas, but thats good. That happens with anything but we will have to compromise and sacrifice to decide how to move all this forward

City Manager Jim Colson announced a neighborhood summit will be held April 20th.

It is meant to enhance the relationship of city officials with the community.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 202243971 - wibw.com/a?a=202243971
Gray Television, Inc.