Primary Election Votes Finalized

By: AP (Posted by Josh Mabry)
By: AP (Posted by Josh Mabry)

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW)-- Shawnee County's primary election results are now official. The Shawnee County Board of canvassers met Monday morning, ruling they'd count 36 of the 54 provisional ballots cast.

No race outcomes were changed.

Larry Wolgast and Michael Ogle will be on the April ballot for Topeka Mayor.

John Campos and Martin Munoz are in the race for Topeka's Second District City Council seat.

Michelle de la Isla and Terry Crowder are battling for the fifth district seat.

Shawnee County Election Commissioner Andrew Howell said even though voter turnout was less than five percent, he stands behind his decision to consolidate into one polling location during last Tuesday's bad weather.

"I feel like we used the information we had at the time and made a good decision," Howell said. "I have informed the commissioners and the public it is not my intention to do that again unless it is absolutely necessary. It does create issues, but I do feel good about the decision. I do think a 12 inch snowfall - if that's in the forecast and you know you can't open places, then you need to make one location you know will be open and will be available. So i think that was the right call at the time."

Your last day to register to vote in the general election is Tuesday, March 12th. Election day is April 2.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 195108991 -
Gray Television, Inc.