Kansas Senate Leader Splits Election Committee

By: AP (posted by Greg Palmer)
By: AP (posted by Greg Palmer)

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) _ The Kansas Senate is dividing a committee on ethics, elections and local government issues into two new panels.

Senate President Susan Wagle of Wichita announced Wednesday the chamber will have one committee on local government and another on ethics and elections.

Wagle said Republican Sen. Dennis Pyle of Hiawatha will chair the Local Government Committee, while GOP Sen. Mitch Holmes of St. John will lead the Ethics and Elections Committee. Republican Michael O'Donnell of Wichita will be the vice chairman for both committees.

The Senate president's office said the workload for the combined committee proved too large and splitting it into two panels will make the handling of legislation more efficient.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 239405081 - wibw.com/a?a=239405081
Gray Television, Inc.