Kansas House Votes To Expand Rural Economic Zones

By: AP
By: AP

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) _ Four more Kansas counties would be added to a growing list of rural areas with special designation under a bill clearing the House.

Cherokee, Labette, Montgomery and Sumner counties would join the existing list of 73 counties identified as rural opportunity zones.

The bill advanced 123-0 on Thursday, sending it to the Senate.

Legislators created the program to boost rural growth in 2011, primarily in counties that experienced double-digit population declines during the last federal census period.

The program offers income tax exemptions for new residents moving to those counties, as well as the repayment of a portion of outstanding college loans with participation by county governments.

Program supporters say the incentives have been helpful in attracting residents and business activity.

Posted by Greg Palmer

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 247629831 - wibw.com/a?a=247629831
Gray Television, Inc.