Deadline Approaching For Grain Commodity Commission Candidates

By: Kansas Dept. of Agriculture posted by Amanda Lanum
By: Kansas Dept. of Agriculture posted by Amanda Lanum

TOPEKA, Kan. -- The Kansas Department of Agriculture reminds prospective candidates for the state’s five grain commodity commissions to begin gathering signatures for the 2013 elections.

Producers of corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, wheat and sunflowers must gather signatures from fellow producers in their regions before Nov. 30, 2012, for the elections that will take place in 2013.

The 2013 election will cover districts seven, eight and nine, or the eastern third of Kansas.

District seven includes Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Jackson, Jefferson, Leavenworth, Marshall, Nemaha, Pottawatomie, Riley and Wyandotte counties.

District eight includes Anderson, Chase, Coffey, Douglas, Franklin, Geary, Johnson, Linn, Lyon, Miami, Morris, Osage, Shawnee and Wabaunsee counties.

District nine includes Allen, Bourbon, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cowley, Crawford, Elk, Greenwood, Labette, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson and Woodson counties.

To be eligible to run for any of the five commodity commissions, the candidate must have been actively engaged in growing corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, wheat or sunflowers within the preceding five years.

Candidates must gather 20 signatures from eligible voters to be included on the 2013 ballot. No more than five signatures from any one county can be used to qualify a candidate. Eligible voters are Kansas residents who will reach age 18 before the election and who have grown corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, sunflowers or wheat for the last three years.

Candidate registration packets are available from the Kansas Department of Agriculture or the grain commodity commissions.

More information about the commodity commissions is available at the following locations:

Kansas Corn Commission at (785) 448-2626 or;
Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission at (785) 341-6433 or;
Kansas Soybean Commission at (785) 271-1030 or;
Kansas Sunflower Commission at (785)-565-3908 or;
Kansas Wheat Commission at (785) 539-0255 or; or
Kansas Department of Agriculture at (785) 296-3556 or

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 166118496 -
Gray Television, Inc.