Coal Plant Bill Headed to Senate

By: AP
By: AP

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) _ A bill allowing two coal-fired power plants
in southwest Kansas won House approval Wednesday.

The Senate is expected to vote on the measure Thursday and decide whether to send it to Governor Sebelius.

The House vote was 75-to-47. That's a solid majority but not the two-thirds vote that supporters would need to override a veto. That would require 84 votes.

Sebelius is expected to veto the bill because it limits the power of the secretary of the Department of Health and Environment to set air pollution rules.

"Governor Sebelius carefully reviews every bill that reaches her desk and this will be no different, assuming it also passes the Senate," her press secretary, Nicole Corcoran, said in a statement. "However, she has been very clear about elements of a bill she will support – and elements that she would not accept. Stripping the KDHE Secretary’s emergency authority to protect the health of Kansas citizens and the quality of our environment is one of those key elements that make it impossible for her to support this bill. Due to the Legislature’s decision to keep that language in this bill, it’s really not a question of if she’ll veto, but when."

Sen. Jay Emler, who helped write the compromise legislation, says lawmakers will have to wait and see what happens in the wake of a veto. However, he says he disagrees with those who say the measure is being rushed through the legislature. He says it's taken the entire session to get to this point.

The measure would allow Sunflower Electric Power to build the
two plants outside Holcomb, in Finney County. That $3.6 billion project has been blocked since October by KDHE Secretary Rod Bremby.

House vote on coal plant bill:
Of the 78 Republicans, 65 voted ``yes,'' 12 voted ``no'' and one
did not vote.
Of the 47 Democrats, 10 voted ``yes,'' 35 voted ``no'' and two
did not vote.

Virginia Beamer, Oakley.
Bob Bethell, Alden.
Elaine Bowers, Concordia.
Anthony Brown, Eudora.
Steve Brunk, Bel Aire.
Mike Burgess, Topeka.
Richard Carlson, St. Marys.
Jeff Colyer, Overland Park.
Barbara Craft, Junction City.
David Crum, Augusta.
Don Dahl, Hillsboro.
Owen Donohoe, Shawnee.
John Faber, Brewster.
Rocky Fund, Hoyt.
Pat George, Dodge City.
Mario Goico, Wichita.
Lana Gordon, Topeka.
John Grange, El Dorado.
Gary Hayzlett, Lakin.
Don Hill, Emporia.
Benjamin Hodge, Overland Park.
Carl Dean Holmes, Liberal.
Mitch Holmes, St. John.
Deena Horst, Salina.
Steve Huebert, Valley Center.
Joe Humerickhouse, Osage City.
Dan Johnson, Hays.
Kasha Kelley, Arkansas City.
Richard Kelsey, Goddard.
Mike Kiegerl, Olathe.
Jeff King, Independence.
Lance Kinzer, Olathe.
Forrest Knox, Altoona.
Bill Light, Rolla.
Peggy Mast, Emporia.
Ty Masterson, Andover.
Joe McLeland, Wichita.
Ray Merrick, Stilwell.
Jim Morrison, Colby.
Tom Moxley, Council Grove.
Don Myers, Derby.
Melvin Neufeld, Ingalls.
Robert Olson, Olathe.
Mike O'Neal, Hutchinson.
Bill Otto, LeRoy.
Tim Owens, Overland Park.
Joe Patton, Topeka.
Larry Powell, Garden City.
Ted Powers, Mulvane.
Richard Proehl, Parsons.
Marc Rhoades, Newton.
Charles Roth, Salina.
Don Schroeder, Inman.
Sharon Schwartz, Washington.
Clark Shultz, Lindsborg.
Arlen Siegfreid, Olathe.
Tom Sloan, Lawrence.
Vern Swanson, Clay Center.
Lee Tafanelli, Ozawkie.
Jene Vickrey, Louisburg.
Jason Watkins, Wichita.
Jeff Whitham, Garden City.
Kenny Wilk, Lansing.
William Wolf, Great Bend.
Kevin Yoder, Overland Park.

Pat Colloton, Leawood.
Terrie Huntington, Fairway.
Brenda Landwehr, Wichita.
Ronnie Metsker, Overland Park.
Judy Morrison, Shawnee.
Virgil Peck, Tyro.
JoAnn Pottorff, Wichita.
Jill Quigley, Lenexa.
Sheryl Spalding, Overland Park.
Dale Swenson, Wichita.
Kay Wolf, Prairie Village.
Ron Worley, Lenexa.

Clay Aurand, Courtland.

Bill Feuerborn, Garnett.
Doug Gatewood, Columbus.
Bob Grant, Cherokee.
Dennis McKinney, Greensburg.
Shirley Palmer, Fort Scott.
Jan Pauls, Hutchinson.
Mike Peterson, Kansas City.
Eber Phelps, Hays.
L. Candy Ruff, Leavenworth.
Jerry Williams, Chanute.

Barbara Ballard, Lawrence.
Tom Burroughs, Kansas City.
Sydney Carlin, Manhattan.
Marti Crow, Leavenworth.
Paul Davis, Lawrence.
Nile Dillmore, Wichita.
Oletha Faust-Goudeau, Wichita.
Geraldine Flaharty, Wichita.
Vaughn Flora, Topeka.
Stan Frownfelter, Kansas City.
Delia Garcia, Wichita.
Raj Goyle, Wichita.
Tom Hawk, Manhattan.
Broderick Henderson, Kansas City.
Jerry Henry, Cummings.
Tom Holland, Baldwin City.
Annie Kuether, Topeka.
Harold Lane, Topeka.
Judy Loganbill, Wichita.
Margaret Long, Kansas City.
Steve Lukert, Sabetha.
Ann Mah, Topeka.
Melody McCray-Miller, Wichita.
Terry McLachlan, Wichita.
Julie Menghini, Pittsburg.
Cindy Neighbor, Shawnee.
Gene Rardin, Overland Park.
Louis Ruiz, Kansas City.
Sue Storm, Overland Park.
Josh Svaty, Ellsworth.
Annie Tietze, Topeka.
Mark Treaster, Pretty Prairie.
Ed Trimmer, Winfield.
Jim Ward, Wichita.
Valdenia Winn, Kansas City.

Tom Sawyer, Wichita.
Vince Wetta, Wellington.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 16317536 -
Gray Television, Inc.