Congressional Delegation Joins Governor in Call for Aid

By: 13 News
By: 13 News

A day after Gov. Kathleen Sebelius sent a letter to the President, Congressman Jerry Moran and the Kansas delegation Thursday asked President Bush to declare a federal disaster area for 60 counties in Kansas.

The request is on behalf of areas that suffered extensive damage during a mid-December ice storm. A Presidential declaration will provide federal assistance for disaster relief and emergency assistance.

“The December storms left nearly 200,000 Kansans without power,” Moran said in a statement. “The damage was extensive and debris can still be seen in numerous Kansas communities. The federal declaration will assist city and county government with clean-up efforts and support rural electric cooperatives in repairing power lines.”

Counties included in the request are: Atchison, Barber, Barton, Brown, Butler, Chase, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Crawford, Dickinson, Doniphan, Edwards, Ellis, Ellsworth, Ford, Geary, Graham, Harvey, Hodgeman, Jackson, Jefferson, Jewell, Kingman, Kiowa, Labette, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Lyon, McPherson, Marion, Marshall, Miami, Mitchell, Morris, Nemaha, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Republic, Rice, Riley, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Smith, Stafford, Wabaunsee, Washington and Woodson.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 14300997 -
Gray Television, Inc.