Van Dyk wins men's wheelchair division at Boston Marathon

BOSTON (AP) -- South African Ernst Van Dyk left no doubt in the men's wheelchair race of the Boston Marathon.

Last year, Van Dyk failed in his bid for a record seventh straight Boston Marathon victory, losing to Japan's Masazumi Soejima. This year, he led from start to finish to win Boston for the seventh time in 1 hour, 26 minutes, 49 seconds.

It was the second slowest time in his seven victories.

He won by a huge margin. No one was near him when he crossed the finish line on Boylston Street.

© 2008 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. Learn more about our Privacy Policy.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 17991719 -
Gray Television, Inc.