Topeka YWCA Honors Women Of Excellence

Tap the Picture to View the Slideshow

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) - Area women were applauded for their efforts in the workplace and their communities.

The YWCA of Topeka held its 25th annual Leadership Luncheon Thursday at the Maner Conference Center.

Area businesses and organizations nominated 27 women for honors. Chosen as winners of the Woman of Excellence awards were Angela Sharp of Bartlett and West Engineers; Cynthia Stotlar of Brewster Place; Nancy Johnson, who heads up the Community Resources Council; Dr. Linda Wiley from Topeka Public Schools; and Barb Dominguez of the Kansas Secretary of State's Office.

In addition, Seaman High School senior Stevy Stauffer earned the Future Leader Scholarship. The YWCA also honored Topeka's Habitat for Humanity as the year's Employer of Excellence and presented the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation with the Community Partner Award. Sharon Sullivan of Washburn University was chosen to receive the YWCA's first-ever Dream Builder award for her support of the Center for Safety and Empowerment.

The audience also heard from Beth Tully of Wichita, who shared her journey to a new career path, launching Cocoa Dolce Artisan Chocolates.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 206849421 -
Gray Television, Inc.