Topeka Shawnee County Sports Council Names High School Award Nominees

By: WIBW (Posted by Melissa Brunner)
By: WIBW (Posted by Melissa Brunner)

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) - Shawnee County's outstanding high school student athletes are up for honors.

Visit Topeka and the Topeka Shawnee County Sports Council announced candidates for the high school awards portion of its upcoming banquet.

The event will honor outstanding seniors from each sports season, as well as an overall and inspirational male and female athletes. Nominees just completed their senior years of high school and must have a minimum 3.0 cumulative grade point average along with their athletic accomplishments.

In addition, Darryle "Dode" Lesser, Ben Meseke and Troy Wilson will be inducted into the Shawnee County Sports Hall of Fame.

The banquet and induction is June 27 at the downtown Ramada Hotel and Convention Center. This is the ninth year for the event.

2013 Sports Awards Nominees
Fall Male
Andy Otting, Hayden
Jamon Fulton, Highland Park
Dylan Hall, Seaman
Austin Smith, Shawnee Heights
Will Geary, Topeka High
Brock Elgin, Topeka West
Hayden Jenkins, Washburn Rural

Fall Female
Hailey Myers, Hayden
Sami Zirkle, Highland Park
Tatiana Schafer, Seaman
Cassie Steuart, Shawnee Heights
Kylee Dewey, Silver Lake
Emily Schoenfeld, Topeka High
Korissa White, Topeka West
Alyssa Carney, Washburn Rural

Winter Male
Ryan France, Hayden
O'Shai Clark, Highland Park
Bryant Guillen, Seaman
Ben Taliaferro, Shawnee Heights
Evan Burdiek, Silver Lake
Will Geary, Topeka High
Riley Landuyt, Washburn Rural

Winter Female
Sarah Pimentel, Hayden
Lexie Heiniger, Seaman
Danielle Poblarp, Shawnee Heights
Mackenzie Freeman, Silver Lake
Thaina Jensen, Topeka West
Erika Lane, Washburn Rural

Spring Male
Tanner Triggs, Hayden
Stacy Ashurst-Thomas, Highland Park
Ryan Colombo, Seaman
Jordan Floyd, Shawnee Heights
Peter Pfannenstiel, Silver Lake
Kris Snyder, Topeka High
Austin Davids, Topeka West
Griffin Koupal, Washburn Rural

Spring Female
Taylor Meeks, Hayden
Morgan Brooks, Highland Park
Jenna Hosey, Seaman
Kelsey Morgan, Shawnee Heights
Megan Lockwood, Silver Lake
Meredith Ricks, Topeka High
Ashley Johnson, Topeka West
Hannah Weingartner, Washburn Rural

Inspirational Male
Brogan Barry, Hayden
Victor Ortega, Highland Park
Nate Stanley, Seaman
Braden Werner, Shawnee Heights
Tyler Brown, Silver Lake
Raymond Solis, Topeka High
Jonathan Mariani, Topeka West
Simon Beatty, Washburn Rural

Inspirational Female
Sarah Pimentel, Hayden
Demarus Kelley, Highland Park
Abbey Harrison, Seaman
Haley Brunn, Shawnee Heights
Alexis Campbell, Silver Lake
Meredith Ricks, Topeka High
Lydia Bender, Topeka West
Samantha Carson, Washburn Rural

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 210646841 -
Gray Television, Inc.