Three Nominees Selected For Court Of Appeals Vacancy

(WIBW) - Gov. Sam Brownback now has two months to pick the next judge for the Kansas Court of Appeals.

The Supreme Court Nominating Commission submitted the names Thursday of two attorneys and one judge to the Governor for consideration.

The nominees are: Steven J. Obermeier, Senior Deputy District Attorney in Johnson County; Judge Kim R. Schroeder, a Hugoton district court judge; and Teresa L. Watson, a Topeka attorney in private practice. They are in the running for the vacancy created when Judge Christel Marquardt retires January 14th.

All three are graduates of the Washburn School of Law.

Even though judge selections are supposed to be non-partisan, conservatives are worried that there is no nominee from their party.

Further information from the Kansas Judicial Branch:
Obermeier has served as a prosecutor in the Johnson County District Attorney’s office since 1985, a year after he graduated from the Washburn University School of Law. He completed undergraduate work at the University of Kansas, where he received both a BS in journalism and a BA degree in political science.

Judge Schroeder has been a district judge in the 26th Judicial District in southwest Kansas since 1999. Before that, he was in private practice in Hugoton from 1982 until his selection to the district court. He is a 1981 graduate of the Washburn School of Law, and also received a BA degree there.

Watson has served as a research attorney for both the state Court of Appeals and the Kansas Supreme Court. She currently is in private practice as a partner in the Topeka firm of Fisher, Patterson, Sayler & Smith, L.L.P. She received both her undergraduate and law degree from Washburn University.

Meanwhile, the Nominating Commission is proceeding with its work in arriving at three nominees to fill a second vacancy on the Court of Appeals, which was created by the October 7th death of Judge Richard Greene, who was chief judge of the court when he died in a Columbus, OH, hospital. The Commission will consider those applying for Judge Marquardt’s vacancy, as well as five others, when it conducts interviews that are scheduled for November 30th in the Fatzer Courtroom at the Judicial Center.

Members of the Nominating Commission include Anne Burke, chairman, Overland Park; and Kerry E. McQueen, Liberal; Dr. Janet A. Juhnke, Salina; Natalie G. Haag and Felita R. Kahrs, both of Topeka; Matthew D. Keenan, Leawood; Robert Hayworth, Stillwell; Jay F. Fowler, and Paul F. Babich, both of Wichita.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 179602981 -
Gray Television, Inc.