State Officials To Begin Storm Damage Assessments

By: Posted by Melissa Brunner
By: Posted by Melissa Brunner

The following is from the KS Adjutant General's Office:

The Kansas Division of Emergency Management will begin joint Preliminary Damage Assessments with FEMA next week in 14 Kansas counties affected by the severe storm system that struck the state April 14 through April 15.

“These assessments will give us a clearer picture of the extent of the damages caused by the storm system,” said Angee Morgan, deputy KDEM director. “This process will help determine whether the storm damages may warrant a request for federal assistance for eligible local and county jurisdictions and non-profit organizations that received damage to their utilities and infrastructure.”

The assessments will begin Tuesday, May 1 and will involve the following counties: Edwards, Ellsworth, Harper, Hodgeman, Jewell, Kiowa, Mitchell, Osborne, Rice, Rush, Russell, Sedgwick, Stafford and Sumner.

Joint teams are comprised of personnel from KDEM, FEMA and the counties. The teams will assess damages for eligible applicants, which include government entities such as state, county, city, township, school districts, as well as certain private non-profit entities such as rural electric cooperatives.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 149177375 -
Gray Television, Inc.