Shawnee Co. Judge Announces Retirement

By: Release
By: Release

Kansas: Office of Judicial Administration Release

Shawnee County District Judge Daniel L. Mitchell Friday announced his retirement effective August 31st.

Judge Mitchell was appointed to fill a vacancy in the juvenile division of the court in October 1985, and has served in that capacity continuously since then. “I was fortunate enough to be appointed to the position open in the juvenile court, which is where I wanted to be from the beginning. I have stayed in that position my entire judicial career by my choice because of the wonderful experience it provides to assist children in their time of need,” Mitchell said in announcing his decision to retire.

In addition to maintaining a busy docket of juvenile offender and child in need of care cases, Judge Mitchell has served on numerous committees and commissions in the state court system, including long-standing service on the Kansas Supreme Court’s Task Force on Permanency Planning, which was established in the 1980s to implement programs to end revolving door placement of foster children from one institution to another.

Judge Mitchell is a 1970 graduate of the College of Emporia and a 1972 graduate of the Washburn University School of Law. He was in private practice in Topeka until his appointment to the juvenile court.

Judge Mitchell’s successor will be chosen by the governor from a list of three nominees made by the Third Judicial District Nomination Commission, a single-county district consisting of Shawnee County.

The seven member commission has set noon August 17, as the deadline for applicants to fill the vacancy that will be created by Judge Mitchell’s retirement. Interviews of applicants will be conducted beginning at 10 a.m. September 5, 2012. The interviews are open to the public; however, the commission has the authority to adjourn to executive session to discuss personal traits of the applicants.

Kansas statutes require that a judge be a resident of the district in which selected, be at least 30 years of age, have been in the active practice of law for at least five years, and have been admitted to the practice of law in the state of Kansas.

Applicants for the position must complete questionnaires for the position on forms that are available online at or at the office of the Clerk of Shawnee County District Court. Members of the Third Judicial District Nominating Commission include Supreme Court Justice Marla J. Luckert, as the non-voting chair, and members Lee R. Barnett, Wakarusa; Terry E. Beck, Thomas G. Lemon, Toby L. McCullough, Jolene C. Miller, and C. Patrick Woods, all of Topeka.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 162357506 -
Gray Television, Inc.