Poster Contest Aims To Put The Brakes On Fatalities

By: Kansas Dept. of Transportation, posted by Amanda Lanum Email
By: Kansas Dept. of Transportation, posted by Amanda Lanum Email

TOPEKA, Kan. -- Kids ages 5 to 13 in Kansas are encouraged to enter artwork for a statewide poster contest focusing on Put the Brakes on Fatalities Day - a nationwide effort to increase roadway safety and reduce all traffic fatalities.

Three statewide winners will receive family packages from the Rolling Hills Wildlife Adventure and the Courtyard by Marriott of Salina, and also $50 gas cards from QuikTrip Corporation.

A total of 18 regional winners in the six regions and age groups (ages 5-7, ages 8-10 and ages 11-13) will receive a bicycle and a helmet donated by Safe Kids Kansas.

All entries must be postmarked by Friday, Sept. 14, and should be mailed to: AAA Kansas, Public Affairs, 3545 SW 6th Street, Topeka, KS, 66606. On the back of the 8 ½ by 11-inch paper entry must be the child’s full name; age at time of entry; mailing address; county; a parent’s name; and contact phone number. For more information, go to KDOT’s website,, and click on the Put the Brakes on Fatalities Day logo.

Traffic crashes are the leading cause of death in the U.S. for people ages 3-34. It’s important to encourage everyone – drivers, passengers, pedestrians and bicyclists – to take extra caution every day and especially on Oct. 10, the day officially designated as Put the Brakes on Fatalities Day.

2011 Poster Contest Winners

Northeast Kansas - Sierra de Koning, Axtell; Reagan de Koning, Axtell; Neeharika Kothapalli, Overland Park.

North Central Kansas - Elijah Schmidt, Junction City; Breckyn Martens, McPherson; Zoey Rankin, Ottawa.

Northwest Kansas - Aaron Moore, Oakley; Indigo Guise, WaKeeney; Donnovan Schroeder, Herndon.

Southeast Kansas - Abigail Balson, Coffeyville; Macie Ables, Fredonia; Nathan Cunningham, Iola.

South Central Kansas - Heath David Moeckel, Plevna; Britton Maclaughlin, Arkansas City; Jack Kelly Lynch, Wichita.

Southwest Kansas - Emmi Lott, Rolla; Emily Allen, Garden City; John Dohogne, Garden City.

2010 Poster Contest Winners

Northeast Kansas - Corissa Bandel, Oskaloosa; Youna Song, Manhattan; Ashley Grimm, Morrill.

North Central Kansas - Makayla Sanderson, Courtland; Breckyn Martens, McPherson; Dylan Hollerich, Tipton.

Northwest Kansas - Jailey Gallentine, Gove; Reanna Harman, Hays; Morgan Kathleen Beougher, Stockton.

Southeast Kansas - Abigail Balson, Coffeyville; Riley Brown, Humboldt; Madi McDonald, Chanute.

South Central Kansas - Calli Hatfield, Wellington; Taya Wilson, Sterling; Morgan Friesen, Andover.

Southwest Kansas - Monserrat Acosta, Dodge City; Grace Lang, Fowler; Ana Maria Chairez-Almeda, Garden City.

2009 Poster Contest Winners

Northeast Kansas - Jared Rokey, Sabetha; Chad Goodman, Sabetha; Hannah Rokey, Sabetha.

North Central Kansas - Lillia Diggs, McPherson; Rebekah Thompson, Gypsum; Taylor Vogan, Salina.

Northwest Kansas - Shayanna Smith, Goodland, Elizabeth Fulcher, Goodland, Alex Goodwin, Goodland.

Southeast Kansas - Clayton Saporito, Columbus; Makaylah McCall, Humboldt; Katy Short, Pittsburg.

South Central Kansas - Spencer MacLaughlin, Arkansas City; Karli Packard, Kingman; Ally Harrelsoncrowell, Wellington.

Southwest Kansas - Clara Bartlett, Cimarron; Zoe McCallum, Garden City; Caroline Hall, Garden City

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 161206115 -
Gray Television, Inc.