New Members Inducted Into The Kansas Hall Of Fame

By: 13 News/Chelsey Moran
By: 13 News/Chelsey Moran
More Video...

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW)--Faster than a speeding bullet, Clark Kent/Superman is now part of the Kansas Hall of Fame along with some other well known Kansan's.

The ceremony was held Friday night at White Concert Hall at Washburn University.

Other 2013 honorees include Kansas the band, Drs. C.F., Will and Karl Menninger, The 1st Kansas Colored Infantry and Dr. James Naismith.

Laura Siegel Larson, daughter of co-creator of Superman Jerry Siegel, accepted the honor for him. John Montgomery, Publisher of the Hutchinson News, represented Clark Kent. Dr. James Naismith was represented by his grandson, Jim Naismith. Nine former and current members of the band Kansas attended. Drs. Roy and Walt Menninger represented Drs. C.F., Karl and Will Menninger. The 1st Kansas Colored Infantry was represented by Gen. Roosevelt Barfield and several descendants of 1st Kansas Soldiers.

A Laureate Reception was held earlier in the evening at the Great Overland Station.

The Kansas Hall of Fame was established in 2011 to commemorate the state's 150th birthday.

Past Laureates of the Hall of Fame include President Dwight D. Eisenhower, Vice President Charles Curtis, Sen. Robert Dole, Gen. Richard Myers, Pizza Hut Founders Dan and Frank Carney, Amelia Earhart, and Marshal Matt Dillon as portrayed by James Arness in 2011. 2012 inductees include Edward Asner, Nancy Landon Kassebaum Baker, Alfred Mossman Landon, William Allen White, George Washington Carver, Cyrus K. Holliday and The Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe Railway.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 212599611 -
Gray Television, Inc.