Longtime Shawnee County Commissioner Retiring

Ted Ensley will not seek a fifth term on the Shawnee County Commission, but there

Ted Ensley receives award in this WIBW file photo

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) - A longtime Shawnee County Commissioner will not seek his fifth term.

Ted Ensley was at the Shawnee County Elections Office on Friday morning. Moments before the noon filing deadline for local races passed, he said he opted to retire from his 3rd district seat.

Ensley is a Democrat. He's served on the commission since 1997.

There's competition on both sides of the aisle to take Ensley's place. Current Topeka City Councilman Bob Archer will face former Councilman Brett Blackburn on the Republican side. Mark Dee Erickson and John Lamb have filed for the Democrats. David Mountain is running as a Libertarian.

In the 2nd Commission district, Democrat Mary Thomas, who was appointed to fill out Vic Miller's term, faces a primary challenge from Linda Armstrong and Kevin Cook. No Republicans filed for the seat.

In the Shawnee County Treasurer's race, incumbent Larry Wilson had said he will not seek reelection. Republican Bill Sheahan and Democrat Larry Mah have filed.

For sheriff, Herman Jones, who Republicans appointed after Dick Barta retired in April, will face Democrat Gary Herman, a retired Topeka Police deputy chief.

Democrat Chad Taylor will be unopposed in his bid for a 2nd term as Shawnee County District Attorney.

The filing deadline for state legislative, Board of Education and Congressional races is June 11th.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 156441055 - wibw.com/a?a=156441055
Gray Television, Inc.