Kansas House Announces Interim Committee Appointments

By: State of Kansas posted by Amanda Lanum
By: State of Kansas posted by Amanda Lanum

TOPEKA, Kan. – Kansas House Speaker Mike O’Neal (R-Hutchinson) announced House appointments to the 2012 Special Interim Committees.

“With a legislative session that runs for just 90 days a year, interim committees are extremely helpful in allowing in-depth study of current issues important to Kansans,” said Speaker O’Neal. “I appreciate the willingness of these legislators to continue working in Topeka as they prepare for the 2013 session.”

In August, the Legislative Coordinating Council created the 2013 Special Interim Committees and designated sixty-two interim days for them to meet. This is down five from the sixty-seven meeting days authorized in 2012.

Ethics and Elections - State Representative Scott Schwab (R-Olathe) (vice-chair), Representative Steve Howell (R-Derby), Representative Randy Garber (R-Sabetha), Representative TerriLois Gregory (R-Baldwin City), Representative Leslie Osterman (R-Wichita) and Representative John Rubin (R-Shawnee)

Financial Institutions and Insurance – Representative Richard Proehl (R-Parsons) (co-chair), Representative Clark Shultz (R-Lindsborg) (co-chair), Representative Rick Billinger (R-Goodland), Representative Phil Hermanson (R- Wichita), Representative Vern Swanson (R-Clay Center) and Representative Gene Suellentrop (R-Wichita)

Rural Broadband - Representative Sharon Schwartz (R-Washington) (chair), Representative Mike Burgess (R-Topeka), Representative Roman Gonzalez (R-Perry), Representative Forrest Knox (R-Altoona), Representative Terry Calloway (R-Pittsburg) and Representative Reynaldo Mesa (R-Garden City)

Taxation - Representative Richard Carlson (R- St. Marys) (vice-chair), Representative Dennis Hedke (R-Wichita), Representative Marvin Kleeb (R-Overland Park), Representative Larry Powell (R-Garden City), Representative Willie Prescott (R-Osage City)

Transportation - Representative Virgil Peck (R-Tyro), Representative Tom Arpke (R-Salina), Representative Gary Hayzlett (R-Lakin), Representative Brett Hildebrand (R-Lenexa), Representative Tom Phillips (R-Manhattan) and Representative Brian Weber (R-Dodge City).

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 168478466 - wibw.com/a?a=168478466
Gray Television, Inc.