KAB Head Named To Emergency Planning Board

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) - The head of the Kansas Association of Broadcasters is among new members of a board facilitating the state's emergency response efforts.

Gov. Sam Brownback announced Kent Cornish's appointment Monday to the Kansas Commission on Emergency Planning and Response. Cornish is executive director of the KAB and he's worked for several Kansas television stations over his career.

Martha Gabehart of Auburn also was appointed. She's executive director of the Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns.

The Commission on Emergency Planning and Response facilitates coordinated efforts to prevent, prepare, respond and recover from emergencies and disasters.

News release from Governor's office on all appointments to boards and commissions announced Monday:

Topeka – Kansas Governor Sam Brownback Monday announced numerous appointments to boards and commissions.

“I appreciate the willingness of these talented Kansans to use their knowledge and expertise to serve their state and communities,” said Governor Brownback. “I’m confident that these individuals will serve the state with distinction.”

The governor’s office is always looking for qualified, interested Kansans to serve the state on commissions and boards in their areas of expertise. If you are interested in serving on a commission or board, please visit http://governor.ks.gov/serving-kansans/office-of-appointments.

Kansas Commission on Emergency Planning and Response:

The CEPR oversees 105 Local Emergency Planning Committees (LEPC) and supports communities, industries, and government agencies by facilitating a coordinated effort in disaster preparedness, response and recovery, as defined in the Kansas Emergency Management Act, K.S.A. Chapter 48, Article 9. The Commission on Emergency Planning and Response’s purpose is to facilitate a coordinated effort to mitigate,prepare, respond, and recover from emergencies and disasters in Kansas.

· Henry Hungerbeeler, of Leavenworth, is a retired Air Force Colonel and a Subject Matter Expert on Opposing Force Aviation for the Army's Mission Command Training Program at Fort Leavenworth. He graduated from the US Air Force Academy with a degree in Engineering Management. He served at the COO and Chief of Staff for Joint Task Force Six, responsible for elite military support to interdict international drug cartels.

· Kent Cornish, of Lawrence, is the President and Executive Director of the Kansas Association of Broadcasters. He has worked at numerous Kansas television stations in Topeka and Wichita since 1976. He earned his Bachelor’s Degree in Journalism from the University of Kansas.

· Ashley Goss, of Garden City, is the Administrator for the Finney County Health Department. She serves as the preparedness coordinator and manages and maintains the annual budget, as well as serving on the Safety Committee and the Community Health Coalition. She earned a Business Management Degree from Newman University.

· Martha Gabehart, of Auburn, is the Executive Director for the Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns. She is a member of the National Association of Governors’ Committees on People With Disabilites. She earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Textile Science from Kansas State University.

· Russell Tomevi, of Winfield, is the Director of Public Works and Engineering for the City of Winfield. Tomevi serves on the Walnut Basin Advisory Committee as well as the American Public Works Association. He graduated from Bradley University with a degree in Construction.

· Mark Willis, of Newton, is the Deputy Chief of the Newton Fire/EMS Department. He received his Emergency Medical Technician certification from Hutchinson County Community College in 1983, and has been with the Newton Fire/EMS department since 1985.

Kansas Solid Waste Grants Advisory Committee:
The Solid Waste Grants Advisory Committee review competitive grant applications and establish a project priority lists of each fiscal year based upon the availability of funds. The grants awarded by this committee are typically for the reuse of construction and demolition debris, recycling electronic scrap collection and reclamation initiatives throughout the state.

· Charles Peckham, of Atwood, is a partner with Brown, Creighton and Peckham, where he has worked since 1984. Prior to 1984, Peckham was a staff attorney for the US Department of Agriculture, and a Security Police Officer with the US Air Force. He earned his J.D. from the University of Kansas.

· Stacy Neilson, of Kinsley, works for the Edwards County Conservation District, a position she has held since 2000. She assists producers with cost-share for terraces, waterways, diversions, septic systems, wells, and tanks.

· Shawn Herrick, of Topeka, is the Executive Secretary of the Kansas Land Title Association, the Mid-America Tire Dealers Association and the Kansas Landfill Association. She earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science and History from Kansas State University. Herrick is being re-appointed for a two-year term.

· Joseph Pajor, Wichita, is a Health Officer for the City of Wichita, a post he has held since 2010. Pajor has also been an Adjunct Instructor of Environmental Science at Friends University. He graduated with a Master’s Degree in Physics from Wichita State University.

Kansas State Fair Board:

The Kansas State Fair Board is a 13 member board appointed by the Governor that acts as the showcase of Kansas agriculture, commerce and industry. It provides education, entertainment and presents a comprehensive format for the state fair.

· Tom Tunnell, of Topeka, is the President of the Kansas Grain and Feed Association, a post he has held since 1980. Tunnell serves on the Board of Directors for The Fertilizer Insitute. He attended Emporia State University and Wichita State University.

Kansas Volunteer Commission:

The Kansas Volunteer Commission develops service programs in Kansas and helps connect Kansans with volunteer and service opportunities. Members serve for a term of three years and commit to six bimonthly meetings held throughout the state.

· Rodney Buchele, of Garden City, is an area specialist for the Kansas State University Research Extension in Garden City, a post he has held since 2003. In this position, Buchele provides leadership, training and advises the 4-H Development program in southwest Kansas. He earned a Masters of Science in Education from the University of Wisconsin.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 146717925 - wibw.com/a?a=146717925
Gray Television, Inc.