Judges Draw Districts With 'Low Priority' On Protecting Incumbents

By: AP Posted by Amanda Lanum
By: AP Posted by Amanda Lanum

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) -- Thanks to a federal court order, three Kansas Senate districts now have a pair of incumbents, and two Kansas House districts have three incumbents each.

It's an unusual feature of a political map drawn by three federal judges. The judges are handling a lawsuit over the Legislature's failure to pass any proposals for redrawing the state's political boundaries to account for population changes over the past decade.

The judges said in their order that they placed a relatively low priority on protecting incumbents and refused to pick which incumbents to protect.

Legislators were still reviewing the boundaries for the House and Senate districts Friday.

In the Kansas City area, the new 37th District includes GOP Sens. Pat Apple, of Louisburg, and Ray Merrick, of Stilwell.

In southeast Kansas, a new 15th District includes Republican Sens. Jeff King, of Independence, and Dwayne Umbarger, of Thayer.

And in northwest Kansas, the new 40th District is home to Republican Sen. Ralph Ostmeyer, of Grinnell, and Democratic Sen. Allen Schmidt, of Hays.

The newly drawn 53rd Kansas House district for Topeka includes Democratic Rep. Annie Tietze and Republican Reps. Mike Burgess and Lana Gordon.

The newly drawn 76th District includes Republican Reps. Peggy Mast, of Emporia; Bill Otto, of LeRoy, and Willie Prescott, of Osage City.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 158153285 - wibw.com/a?a=158153285
Gray Television, Inc.