Jayhawk Council Announces 20 Under 40 Nominees

By: News Release (Posted by Melissa Brunner)
By: News Release (Posted by Melissa Brunner)

The following news release is from the Jayhawk Area Council of Boy Scouts:

The Jayhawk Area Council announced Wednesday the 2013 Honorees for Topeka’s Top “20 Under 40” Award.

Now in its fourth year, Topeka’s Top “20 Under 40” Award honors members of the Topeka/Shawnee County community for their commitment and contributions both professionally and personally. Community members are invited to submit nominations for the award, once nominated, the nominee is then sent an invitation to apply. This year over 150 nominations were received. Each year selecting just 20 honorees is a difficult task, this year’s selections were even more difficult as a total of 89 applications were submitted. The honorees are chosen by a selection committee comprised of 20 Topeka community leaders who spent countless hours reviewing each application.

Congratulations to Topeka’s 2013 “20 Under 40” Honorees:

Christie Appelhanz, Kansas Action for Children
Stacie Borjon, Shawnee Heights High School
Laura Burton, YWCA Topeka
Brandon Evans, Williams Elementary
Jayme Green, Topeka Police Department
Carrie Greenwood, Kansas Youth Empowerment Academy (KYEA)
Zach Haney, Carnival Guy Party Rentals/Teens Taking Action
Melissa Jarboe, Jamie Jarboe Foundation
Marjorie Lathrop-Allen, Hill's Pet Nutrition
Chris McGee, Krumins McGee Financial Group of Wells Fargo Advisors
Cherie McGinnis, Stormont-Vail HealthCare
Cory Powell, Boys & Girls Clubs of Topeka
John Ratzenberger, Sheltered Living, Inc.
David Richard, Eisenhower Middle School in Topeka Public Schools
Dr. Michelle Schierling, Stormont-Vail Healthcare
Jennifer Sourk, Midwest Health Management
Neal Spencer, The Ernest-Spencer Companies
Travis Stryker, CAS Constructors, LLC
Karily Taylor, Marian Clinic
Jenny Torrence, Serendipity

“On behalf of the 20 Under 40 Selection and Steering Committees as well as the Jayhawk Area Council, I would like to thank everyone who submitted nominations and applications for this year’s awards. Each year we are truly amazed at the outstanding young and talented leaders within our community,” shared Kimberly Qualls, 20 Under 40 Co-Chair and Jayhawk Area Council Board Member. “We are excited to take this opportunity to recognize these honorees and help support the Jayhawk Area Council’s vision to prepare every eligible youth in America to become a responsible, participating citizen and leader who is guided by the Scout Oath and Law.”

The 2013 honorees will be recognized at a banquet on Thursday, November 14, 2013 at the Ramada Downtown Convention Center in Topeka. More information about purchasing banquet tickets or sponsorship opportunities for the event are available online at www.jayhawkcouncil.org/20under40 or by phone at 785-354-8541.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 219614891 - wibw.com/a?a=219614891
Gray Television, Inc.