Governor Signs Judicial Reform Legislation Into Law

By: From 13 News, Posted by Ralph Hipp
By: From 13 News, Posted by Ralph Hipp

TOPEKA -- Kansas Governor Sam Brownback signed House Bill 2019 into law Wednesday during a signing ceremony at the Kansas Capitol. The new law reforms how judges for the Kansas Court of Appeals are appointed.

“The guiding principle of our American democracy must be that every citizen stands equal before the law, with an equal voice in this long running American experiment in self-government,” Gov. Brownback said. “Kansans expect and are entitled to a government that is not beholden to any special interest group. Unfortunately in Kansas, our current system of selecting our appellate judges fails the democracy test.”

Brownback continued, “Rather than providing an equal voice to all Kansans in the selection of our Appeals and Supreme Court judges, Kansas is the only state in the union that allows a special interest group – to control the process of choosing who will be judges for the rest of us.”

Currently, Appeals Court judges are nominated by the Supreme Court Nominating Commission which is made five members elected by the Kansas Bar, and four members appointed by the governor.

HB 2019 allows the governor to appoint a qualified person to fill any vacancy of the Appeals Court who is subject to approval by the Kansas Senate. Known as the federal process, this procedure is similar to how justices for the United States Supreme Court are appointed.

“This is not about controlling judges. Judicial independence is vital and necessary for fair and just rulings from our courts. But judicial independence must rest firmly on the consent of the people. Public confidence is the best and only hedge around the independent judgments of our courts,” Brownback said. “I want to thank the Kansas Legislature for taking this important step towards reforming our system of judicial selection and restoring public confidence in our judiciary. We must give all Kansans an equal voice, whether directly or indirectly through elected representatives, in choosing our judicial leaders.”

House Speaker Ray Merrick, and Senate Majority Leader Terry Bruce as well as Senators Steve Fizgerald, Mitch Holmes, Julia Lynn and Greg Smith and Representatives Steve Brunk, Willie Dove, Keith Esau, Shanti Gandhi, Jerry Lunn, Mark Kahrs, Charles Macheers, Allan Rothilsberg, John Rubin, and Troy Waymaster were among those who joined the Governor for the bill signing. Secretary of State Kris Kobach and Court of Appeals Judge Tony Powell also attended the bill signing.

This is the first bill signed into law by the Governor during the 2013 Legislative Session.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 200328331 -
Gray Television, Inc.