First Meeting Of Governor’s KanCare Advisory Council Set

By: KDHE posted by Amanda Lanum
By: KDHE posted by Amanda Lanum

TOPEKA, Kan. –The first meeting of Governor Sam Brownback’s KanCare Advisory Council is scheduled for Thursday, March 29 in Topeka.

The 20-member council was announced earlier this month and includes representatives from those health care provider and consumer groups moving into KanCare, the plan for a sustainable model of integrated, person-centered care coordination within Kansas Medicaid. Four state legislators are also on the council.

This meeting will be held from 10:30 a.m. to noon in the Crumbine Room of the Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Ste. 540. This is a public meeting; however, space is limited. Kansans planning to attend the KanCare Advisory Council meeting should contact Kay White at 785-296-0461 by noon on Wednesday, March 28; please make the need for special accommodations known at that time.

As announced on March 14 by the Governor’s Office, the council includes Medicaid consumers and/or family members as well as representatives from mental health services, substance abuse services, disabilities services, physician groups, hospitals, pharmacy groups, senior services, tribal organizations and the Legislature.

· Andy Brown, Lawrence, representing children’s advocate network
· John Calbeck, M.D., Garden City, representing substance abuse providers
· Barney Mayse, Overland Park, representing physically disabled Medicaid consumers
· Representative Brenda Landwehr, Wichita, representing the Kansas House of Representatives
· Craig Concannon, M.D., FACP, Beloit, representing medical providers
· Dave Geist, Dodge City, representing area aging agencies
· Senator Vicki Schmidt, Topeka, representing the Kansas Senate
· David Sanford, Wichita, representing primary care providers
· Kevin Bryant, M.D., C.M.D., Wichita, representing nursing facility providers
· Audrey Schremmer-Philip, Wamego, representing independent living centers
· Senator Allen Schmidt, Hays, representing the Kansas Senate
· Larry Martin, Valley Falls, representing senior Medicaid consumers
· Mary Barba, Topeka, representing developmental disabled Medicaid consumers
· Colin McKenney, Valley Center, representing developmental disability service providers
· Mike Conlin, R.Ph, F.A.C.A., F.I.A.C.P., C.E.A.C., Topeka, representing community pharmacists
· Randy Johnson, MA, CPS, Lawrence, representing mental health care Medicaid consumers
· Steve Kelly, Newton, representing hospitals
· Representative Jerry Henry, Cummings, representing the Kansas House of Representatives
· Susette Schwartz, Wichita, representing health clinics and tribal organizations
· Walt Hill, Hays, representing mental health care providers

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 144224095 -
Gray Television, Inc.