Kansas Innovative School Districts Named

By: WIBW (Kion Hudson)
By: WIBW (Kion Hudson)

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW)-- The Concordia and McPherson School Districts are the first members of a new Innovative Schools Coalition.

The two were selected following presentations to Governor Sam Brownback and the chairpersons of the House and Senate Education Committees.

Eight districts applied, including Santa Fe Trail and Seaman.

Under a 2013 law, up to 10 percent of the state's school districts may eventually be declared innovative, which allows them to circumvent some of the rules and regulations in exchange for the freedom to develop strategies to boost student achievement.

Even though his district wasn't chosen, Seaman's Superintendent says they'll still see benefits.

"I can't think of anything that's more exciting than getting 28 or 29 school districts together who are innovating and discussing ways we might work together. take there ideas and make them work in our districts. I think that's what it's all about," Mike Mathes, USD 345 Superintendent.

The two initial districts will serve as the board that will approve future applications for innovative status.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 247238671 - wibw.com/a?a=247238671
Gray Television, Inc.