ESU To Honor Its National Debate Champs

EMPORIA, Kan. (WIBW) - Emporia State University will honor its national debate champions Wednesday.

ESU is planning a reception at noon Wednesday in the Memorial Union for Ryan Wash and Elijah Smith. The team won the National Debate Tournament Tuesday morning at Weber State University in Ogden, Utah. The university says in a news release the duo also won the Cross Examination Debate Association national tournament at Idaho State University last week.

The team will walk through Main Street beginning from the east entrance through to the west entrance in front of the Hornets Nest dining hall.

Allan Louden, chairman of the communications department at Wake Forest University, says Wash and Smith are the first team to win both titles in the same season. The CEDA competition is open to all teams that want to compete, while teams must qualify for the National Debate Tournament.

Smith is a sophomore from Newark, N.J., and Wash is a senior from Kansas City, Mo.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 201141891 -
Gray Television, Inc.