Kansas to Share Watershed Funds

By: AP
By: AP
14 states to split $42 million in watershed funds, including Kansas.

unclaimed money.

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. (AP) _ Indiana is one of 14 states that will share more than $42 million in federal stimulus money to improve water and wildlife conservation in rural communities.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced the grants today in Terre Haute. He said the money will be used to address water quality and supply issues, flood-proof homes and improve wildlife and aquatic habitats.

Indiana will receive $3.3 million of the total $42.3 million pot. Tennessee will receive $12.4 million, while California gets $9 million.

Other states receiving money are Alabama, Iowa, Kansas, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, South Carolina, Kansas, Kentucky, New Mexico and Oklahoma.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 46750572 - wibw.com/a?a=46750572
Gray Television, Inc.