Penalties in Kansas For Drunken Driving to Increase

By: AP
By: AP

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) _ A third or fourth conviction for driving under the influence in Kansas will mean more jail time starting next year.

Gov. Kathleen Sebelius signed legislation imposing the tougher penalty on Monday . It takes effect in July 2010.

The penalty for a fourth DUI conviction will be at least 180 days in jail, double the current minimum, and a fine of $2,500. The time served before being eligible for a work release program goes from four days to six days.

For a third conviction, an offender will face a minimum of 90 days and at least a $1,500 fine. The offender would be eligible for work release after two days in jail.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 43310942 - wibw.com/a?a=43310942