PSU Presidential Finalists Selected

(TOPEKA) - Friday the Kansas Board of Regents announced the four individuals selected as presidential finalists for Pittsburg State University (PSU). Finalists will visit the PSU campus and the city Pittsburg over the next two weeks.

The Pittsburg State Presidential Search Committee has selected four excellent candidates who will soon be on campus to meet with students, faculty and staff, and members of the local community, said Bill Docking of Arkansas City, former-Regent and Chair of the PSU Presidential Search Committee. All four are energetic and experienced leaders who could effectively build on the outstanding leadership that President Bryant has provided over the past nine years.

The four finalists are:

Dr. Diana B. Carlin: Professor, Communication Studies Department, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS. Former-Dean-in-Residence and Director of International Outreach, Council of Graduate Schools, Washington, DC. Former-Dean, Graduate School and International Programs, University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS.

Dr. Thomas L. Keon: Dean, College of Business Administration, University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL. Former-Dean, College of Business and Administration, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, IL.

Dr. Fletcher M. Lamkin: Vice President for Institutional Advancement, Dominican University of California, San Rafael, CA. Former-President, Westminster College, Fulton, MO.

Dr. Steven A. Scott: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Pittsburg State University, Pittsburg, KS. Former-Dean, College of Education, Pittsburg State University, Pittsburg, KS.

Finalists application letters and resumes can be found on the PSU Presidential Search page on the Boards website at the following link:

Finalist visits will take place on the following dates:

April 6-8: Dr. Thomas L. Keon
April 8-10: Dr. Steven A. Scott
April 13-15: Dr. Fletcher M. Lamkin
April 16-18: Dr. Diana B. Carlin

Additional details will be released immediately prior to each finalist's visit.

In August 2008, President Tom Bryant announced that he would retire at the end of the 2008-2009 academic year after 9 years of service as PSUs President and a total of 38 years of service to PSU. Shortly thereafter, the Board initiated the presidential search process by selecting Docking to chair the search committee. In October 2008, the Board selected the members of the presidential search committee; 18 individuals representing PSU constituencies such as faculty, students, administration, staff, alumni/foundation, the Pittsburg community, and the Board of Regents. The Search Committee began its work in November 2008, and, following the campus visits by the finalists, will submit to the Board of Regents an unranked list of the top candidates who are the most qualified for Board selection as President of PSU. The Board expects a new president to be designated this spring, to assume the presidency at PSU on or about July 1, 2009.

Additional search details can be found on the PSU Presidential Search page on the Boards website at the following link:

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 42400587 -
Gray Television, Inc.