KU Debate Team Wins National Title

By: AP
By: AP

LAWRENCE, Kan. (AP) _ The University of Kansas debate team has
won its first national title in 26 years.

Two seniors -- Brett Bricker of Wichita and Nate Johnson of Manhattan -- beat defending champion Wake Forest early Tuesday in
the National Debate Tournament in Austin, Texas. Bricker and Johnson scored a 4-1 decision in the final round of the competition.

Johnson's father Ron Johnson tells the Lawrence Journal-World that Kansas advanced to the finals on Monday night after defeating California-Berkeley. In the other semifinal, Wake Forest University
upset Northwestern University.

It was the first-ever tournament win for 18-year veteran coach Scott Harris. He led the Jayhawks debaters to third-place finishes in 1994 and 1999.

Kansas also won the national title in 1954, 1970, 1976 and 1983.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 42233767 - wibw.com/a?a=42233767
Gray Television, Inc.