Washburn Honors Shawnee Co. Seniors

Shawnee County high school seniors honored by Washburn University
at scholarship reception

TOPEKA – Shawnee County high school students who have received scholarships from Washburn University were recognized at a scholarship reception Tuesday, March 24. at Washburn University.

The students receiving scholarships and the scholarship(s) they are receiving are listed below by the high school they attend.
Cair Paravel Latin School: Allison Lippe, academic; Sarah Powell, academic; Sarah Stone, Presidential and academic; Andrew Waldy, Garvey and academic

Hayden High School: Julia Brummer, Presidential and academic; Connor Colboch, academic; Jacob Dodds, academic; Anna Frantz, Presidential and academic; Claire Killion, Garvey and academic; Amanda Stadler, academic; April Wangerin, academic

Highland Park High School: Natali Garcia Soto, Presidential; Britani Winberry, Presidential and Wiseman

Rossville High School: Kristina Cook, academic; Caitlin Curran, Presidential and academic; Angelique Flinn, academic; Skylar Flinn, Presidential and academic; Chelsie McCullough, academic

Seaman High School: Kevin Burdiek, academic; Lynn Cook, Presidential and academic; Matthew Cooksley, academic; Sabrina Fannin, academic; Justin Force, academic; Ashley Franken, academic; Brandon Frost, academic; Jhami Guffey, academic; Garth Jackson, academic; Shelby Marshall, academic; Morgan Minihan, academic; Jocelyn Price, Presidential and academic; Morgan Rodecap, academic; Richard Singer, academic; Kelly Zachariasen, Garvey and academic

Shawnee Heights High School: Jamie Baldwin, academic; Breann Bartlow, academic; Austin Flohrschutz, academic; Kristyn Morris, academic; Katelyn Peters, academic; Margaret Pilcher, academic; Rebecca Sims, academic; Andrew Taliaferro, academic; Joshua Vossen, Presidential, Garvey and academic; Austin Wegener, academic

Silver Lake High School: Michael Hamilton, academic; Joshua Rosebaugh, Presidential, Garvey and academic; Adam Wetzel, Presidential and academic; Kelsey Wichman, academic

Topeka High School: Elizabeth Biles, Wiseman and academic; Tyler Chanay, Wiseman; Claire Crawford, Richey, Presidential and Wiseman; Patrick Dittamo, Wiseman and academic; Kara Duer, Wiseman and academic; Mary Kenefake, Wiseman and academic; Shane Kennedy, Wiseman and academic; Clarke Ostrander, Wiseman; Maddisen Rivera, Presidential, Wiseman and academic; Sarah Wayman, Wiseman and academic

Topeka West High School: Savannah Abbott, Wiseman; Christian Barreno, Wiseman and academic; Ashley Danielsen, academic; Taylor Drain, Richey, Presidential, Garvey and Wiseman; Chelsea Howe, Wiseman; Erin Kelly, Presidential; Rebekah Miller, Wiseman; Hezekiah Phelps, Wiseman and academic; Zacharias Phelps-Roper, Shaw, Wiseman and academic; Ashley Riley, Wiseman; Aaron Roeckers, Wiseman and academic; Nicholas Scott, academic; Paul Smith, Wiseman; Courtney Taylor, Wiseman; Matthew Tucker, Wiseman and academic; Keith Warren, Wiseman

Washburn Rural High School: Trent Annan, academic; Robert Chipman, academic; Whitney Drane, Presidential; John Hale, academic; Morgan Hutcherson, Presidential and academic; Michelle Langer, academic; Jennifer Legino, academic; Aaron McDaniel, academic; Brittany Nixon, academic; Jacqueline Qi, Bryden, Shaw and academic; Dalton Rooney, academic; Colton Strathman, academic; Sarah Ubel, academic; Jacob Watson, academic

Home school: Emily Hochstetler, Garvey and academic; Christina Perez, academic


Academic Scholarships require a 23 on the ACT test, a 3.25 grade point average and full-time enrollment. The scholarships are renewable.

The Bryden Scholarship is provided by the Blanche Bryden Foundation. The scholarship honors one student per year with a $2,000 scholarship. Bryden recipients are selected through an essay competition from the Presidential Scholars.

Garvey Scholarships are awarded based on a comprehensive examination. The scholarships are renewable.

Presidential Scholarships are awarded to two graduates of each Shawnee County High School. Students must have a 3.5 grade point average and receive a recommendation from their high school principal and counselor. These scholarships are for $1,000 and are renewable for four years.

The Richey Scholarship was established in 2007 with the generous gift of the Ronald Richey family. The premier scholarships provided by the Richey Scholars Program assist the university in attracting the highest achieving students. Students whose academic achievements place them in the top 10 percent of students nationally are invited to apply. Awards are based on academic achievement, extra-curricular involvement, and leadership and service to the community.

The Shaw Scholarship is awarded to a student who intends to major in either pre-med or pre-law.

Wiseman Scholarships are awarded to outstanding graduates of Topeka Unified School District 501 high schools.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 41932117 - wibw.com/a?a=41932117
Gray Television, Inc.