Shawnee Co. Sheriff's Office Recognizes Service

By: 13 News
By: 13 News

The Shawnee County Sheriff's Office honored some of its employees Thursday with a special awards ceremony.

Three people received certificates of appreciation: Sgt. Andy Dale for his leadership with the burglary task force; Paul Tavares for his efforts to imprve the Process Office; and Melanie Mills for staying past her shift to handle a highly stressful call involving a barricaded subject.

Two people were recognized with an honorable service award: Sondra Hamilton for handling a life-threatening 911 call and using computer aided dispatch to locate the caller and dispatch emergency crews; and Deputy Jesse Foster for getting information that led to the arrest of a suspect in a kidnapping and sexual battery case.

Two others received the outstanding community service award: James Smith for turning in $4000 he found so it could be returned to its rightful owner and Terri Neill who led the Sheriff's Office Project Topeka food drive campaign.

Honored with special recognition was Capt. Michael Kolbek for completing the Kansas Emergency Management Association Certified Emergency Managers Training.

Ten other officers were were recognized for their recent promotions.
They include new Corporals Eric Frey, Kelly Jordan and James Garner; new Sergeants Todd Good, Michael Wright, Justin Vest and Phil McKay; and new Lieutenants Akim Reynolds, Brad Metz and Phil Higdon.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 40400462 -
Gray Television, Inc.