President Approves Disaster Declaration for Kansas Counties

By: AP
By: AP

WASHINGTON (AP) _ President Bush has approved a federal disaster
declaration for nine Kansas counties hit by storms in September.

Friday's order clears the way for federal assistance to be provided to local governments in Anderson, Butler, Chase, Cowley, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Russell and Sumner counties.

The areas were hit by severe storms, flooding and tornadoes from Sept. 11-17. Gov. Kathleen Sebelius requested the declaration from
federal officials.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said additional designations may be made later if requested by the state, as
determined by further damage assessments.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 33670289 -
Gray Television, Inc.