Sebelius Appoints Additional Transportation Task Force Members

TOPEKA, Kan. - Governor Kathleen Sebelius announced the addition of four state legislators and a city leader to the task force charged with crafting a new strategic transportation approach.

“Our state has enjoyed twenty years of success in transportation because of legislators from both parties from across the state working together,” Sebelius said. “I’ve asked the task force to create a vision that keeps our infrastructure in good shape and puts Kansas in a position for future economic growth. I appreciate the willingness of these leaders to serve in this effort.”

New members to the task force, Transportation-Leveraging Investments in Kansas (T-LINK), include:

o Senator Les Donovan, Chair of the Senate Transportation Committee, Wichita

o Senator Greta Goodwin, Member of Senate Transportation Committee and the Senate Ways and Means Committee, Winfield

o Representative Margaret Long, Ranking Minority Member of the House Transportation Committee, Kansas City

o Representative Don Schroeder, Member of the House Taxation Committee and the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee, Inman

o Marge Vogt, Olathe City Councilmember, Olathe

With the state’s 10-year transportation program coming to an end, T-LINK is charged with developing a set of recommendations for a new strategic transportation approach.

T-LINK will convene its first meeting on Wednesday August 27th from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. in Topeka at the Ramada Inn. More information about the task force can be found at

Complete list of T-LINK members:

Tim Rogers, Chair, Salina Airport Authority, Salina

Secretary Deb Miller, Chair, Department of Transportation, Topeka

Fred Bailey, Bailey Truck Line, Abilene

Gary Beachner, Beachner Grain, St. Paul

Mary Birch, Lathrop and Gage, Overland Park

Joan Brabec, Twin Valley Developmental Services, Inc., Greenleaf

Commissioner Shelly Buhler, Shawnee County, Topeka

Ed DeSoignie, Heavy Contractors Association, Kansas City

Allie Devine, Kansas Livestock Association, Topeka

Commissioner Pat Hageman, Rooks County, Natoma

Bernie Hayen, City of Manhattan, Manhattan

Brenda Herrman, City of Hays, Hays

Bart Hildreth, Wichita State University, Wichita

Jan Huston, Highway Advisory Commission, Americus

Roger Kaminska, Operating Engineers Local 101, Kansas City

Mike Kelley, YRC Worldwide, Kansas City

Don Linville, Garden City Chamber, Garden City

Richard Lopez, SER-Jobs for Progress, Wichita

Dean Mann, Citizens Bank, Fort Scott

Scott Moore, City of Wichita, Wichita

Bill Pickert, BKD, Wichita

Mayor Joe Reardon, Unified Govt. Wyandotte County, Kansas City

Randall Riggs, City of Newton, Newton

Bob Totten, Kansas Contractors Association, Topeka

Pat Weaver, KU Transportation Center, Lawrence

Jane Westerman, Cargill, Dodge City

Councilmember Marge Vogt, Olathe

Legislative Members

Senator Les Donovan, Wichita

Senator Greta Goodwin, Winfield

Representative Margaret Long, Kansas City

Representative Don Schroeder, Inman

Ex-Officio Members

Secretary David Kerr, Department of Commerce, Topeka

Secretary Joan Wagnon, Department of Revenue, Topeka

Michael Johnston, Kansas Turnpike Authority, Wichita

Steve Weatherford, Kansas Development Finance Authority, Topeka

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 27514899 -
Gray Television, Inc.