Third of Kan. Legislative Seats Uncontested

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) _ A third of this year's election contests for legislative seats have already been settled.

Candidates in 50 of the 125 Kansas House districts have no opponents for the Nov. 4 general election. The same is true in six of 40 Senate districts.

That means Republicans already have won 28 House seats and four Senate seats. Democrats already have won 22 House seats and two Senate seats.

Top legislative leaders are on the list as they seek re-election.
They include:
_ Senate President Steve Morris, a Hugoton Republican
_ Senate Majority Leader Derek Schmidt, an Independence Republican
_ House Speaker Melvin Neufeld, an Ingalls Republican
_ and House Minority Leader Dennis McKinney, a Greensburg Democrat

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 27036499 -
Gray Television, Inc.