Kansas Governor Announces Transportation Group

By: AP
By: AP

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) _ A new task force has the job of creating what Gov. Kathleen Sebelius is calling a ``new strategic transportation approach.''

Transportation Secretary Deb Miller has formed the 30-member group at the governor's direction. It plans to have its first meeting Aug. 27 in Topeka.

The task force's discussions will come in the final year of the state's 10-year, $13 billion transportation program. Next year, legislators are likely to discuss whether they want to approve another program.

Miller and Tim Rogers, executive director of the Salina Airport Authority, will lead the group. The members include local officials, contractors and other industry representatives.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

T-LINK Members include:
Tim Rogers, Chair, Salina Airport Authority, Salina
Secretary Deb Miller, Chair, Department of Transportation, Topeka
Fred Bailey, Bailey Truck Line, Abilene
Gary Beachner, Beachner Grain, St. Paul
Mary Birch, Lathrop and Gage, Overland Park
Joan Brabec, Twin Valley Developmental Services, Inc., Greenleaf
Commissioner Shelly Buhler, Shawnee County, Topeka
Ed DeSoignie, Heavy Contractors Association, Kansas City
Allie Devine, Kansas Livestock Association, Topeka
Commissioner Pat Hageman, Rooks County, Natoma
Bernie Hayen, City of Manhattan, Manhattan
Brenda Herrman, City of Hays, Hays
Bart Hildreth, Wichita State University, Wichita
Jan Huston, Highway Advisory Commission, Americus
Roger Kaminska, Operating Engineers Local 101, Kansas City
Mike Kelley, YRC Worldwide, Kansas City
Don Linville, Garden City Chamber, Garden City
Richard Lopez, SER-Jobs for Progress, Wichita
Dean Mann, Citizens Bank, Fort Scott
Scott Moore, City of Wichita, Wichita
Bill Pickert, BKD, Wichita
Mayor Joe Reardon, Unified Govt. Wyandotte County, Kansas City
Randall Riggs, City of Newton, Newton
Bob Totten, Kansas Contractors Association, Topeka
Pat Weaver, KU Transportation Center, Lawrence
Jane Westerman, Cargill, Dodge City

Ex-Officio Members
Secretary David Kerr, Department of Commerce, Topeka
Secretary Joan Wagnon, Department of Revenue, Topeka
Michael Johnston, Kansas Turnpike Authority, Wichita
Steve Weatherford, Kansas Development Finance Authority, Topeka

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 26964609 - wibw.com/a?a=26964609
Gray Television, Inc.