Sebelius Reappoints, Kansans Continue to Serve Their Communities

Governor Kathleen Sebelius has reappointed several Kansans to various boards and commissions throughout the state.

“I am pleased to see so many Kansans continuing their service to the state,” Sebelius said. “These boards and commissions will continue to have the representation they need to make smart decisions for Kansas,”

Ward Loyd, Garden City, was reappointed to a four-year term as a member of the Kansas Advisory Group on Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. The group was established to determine, advocate for and promote the best interests of juveniles in Kansas. Reflecting its purpose, the Kansas Advisory Group reviews juvenile justice policy, advises policymakers on issues affecting the juvenile justice system and strives to keep Kansas in compliance with the federal JJDPA act.

Dennis Maus, Wichita, and Dr. Richelle Roy, Topeka, were reappointed to four-year terms as members of the Kansas Dental Board. The mission of the board is to ensure and protect dental health by enforcement of the Kansas Dental Law and to adopt rules, issue licenses and conduct hearings to revoke or suspend licenses.

The Honorable John W. Carlin, Manhattan, and Sandra Jones, Lawrence, were reappointed to four-year terms as members of the Kansas Bioscience Authority. The purpose of this group is to guide the development of bioscience research to commercialization; recruit world-class scholars to Kansas universities; fund the development of the necessary lab space and equipment to conduct superior research in the biosciences; drive technology transfer and the commercialization of bioscience discoveries; and support the growth of the bioscience industry base. The authority will administer research, commercialization and workforce development programs.

Norman Dawson, Leavenworth, was reappointed to a four-year term as a member of the Pooled Money Investment Board. This board is responsible for managing resources in the State General Fund and hundreds of other state funds. The goal of this board is to provide a market rate of return on investments, while keeping safety and liquidity as foremost objectives.

Kenneth Gorman, Topeka, was reappointed to a four-year term as a member of the Public Employee Relations Board. The board handles labor relations issues involving public employees of Kansas cities, counties, municipalities and the state

Melvin Minor, Stafford, Michael Downing, Ellis, and Winton Winter, Jr., Lawrence, have been reappointed to three-year terms as members of the State Banking Board. The mission of the board is to prudently, equitably, ethically and efficiently administer all of its statutorily delegated powers; and to promote competitiveness; financial stability; safe and sound banking practices; protection of Kansas consumers; and public confidence in the state chartered banking industry.

Robert Honse, Lawrence, has been reappointed to a two-year term as a member of the University of Kansas Hospital Authority. This group is the public oversight body that governs the operations of the hospital at the University of Kansas Medical Center.

Larry Shivers, Salina, has been reappointed to a four-year term as a member of the Kansas Agricultural Remediation Board. This board administers the Kansas Agricultural Remediation Fund and the remediation reimbursement program.

Lawrence Daniels, Dodge City, has been reappointed to a one-year term as a member of the State Board of Indigent Defense. This board provides, supervises and coordinates in the most efficient and economical manner possible, the constitutionality and statutorily required counsel and related services for each indigent person accused of a felony and for such other indigent persons as prescribed a statute.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 26464204 -
Gray Television, Inc.