Cushinberry, Farley Honored by Scout Council

Highland Park High School Principal Dale Cushinberry and Washburn University President are the latest names added to the local honor roll of the Boy Scouts' "Distinguished Citizens" Thursday night at the Ramada Hotel and Convention Center.

Every year since 1985, the Jayhawk Council of the Boy Scouts of America have chosen one (or two) Topekans to receive the honor. Cushinberry and Farley were selected for the commitment to education, to the community, and to Scouting.

Dale Cushinberry's community service includes Living the Dream, Upward Bound, The Kansas Supreme Court Nomination Commission and Emporia State University's Board of Trustees.

Jerry Farley is credited with transforming the culture, the appearance and the attitude of Washburn University since he took the helm as Washburn's 14th president 11 years ago this summer. He has been busily involved with the United Way, Go Topeka and the Chamber of Commerce, the Red Cross, Cancer Society, and currently as president of the Jayhawk Council.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 26165329 -
Gray Television, Inc.