Kansas Sports Hall Names 10 to 2008 Class

WICHITA, Kan. (AP) _ The Kansas Sports Hall of Fame announces a class of 10 athletes, coaches and broadcasters it plans to induct in October.

Among the inductees are former New York Yankees Ralph Terry and Mike Torrez, and Dave Robisch, a former NBA player and All-American at University of Kansas.

Others will include Dick Knostman, an All-American basketball star at Kansas State; Ronald Moore, a football running back from Pittsburg State; and Deb Richard, winner of five LPGA events.

Phil Stephenson, a NCAA baseball player of the year in 1982 at Wichita State and Paul Lindblad, a major league pitcher who played on three championship teams, also were named.

Gary Bender, a sports broadcaster, and Les Davis, a longtime coach at Sedan high school in southeast Kansas, round out the class.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 24537574 - wibw.com/a?a=24537574
Gray Television, Inc.