FEMA Funds More Than $52 Million to Kansas Electrical Coops

TOPEKA, Kan. – The Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Kansas Division of Emergency Management, a division of the Adjutant General’s Department, Wednesday announced more than $52 million in funding to help Kansas electrical cooperatives recover from the December 2007 severe winter storms.

The funding is being provided to 20 cooperatives and 24 municipal utilities located across the state to restore damaged facilities.

Rural Electric Cooperatives Project Total

Ark Valley Electric Cooperative Assn $7,692,480
Bluestem Electrical Cooperative $1,963,444
Brown-Atchison Electric Cooperative $6,438,127
Butler Rural Electric Cooperative $100,277
CMS Electric Cooperative $273,949
Doniphan Electric Cooperative $435,000
DS&O Rural Electric Cooperative $2,501,520
Flint Hills Rural Electric Cooperative $3,340,621
Heartland Rural Electric Co-Op $623,532
Kaw Valley Cooperative $546,667
Leavenworth –Jefferson Electric Co-Op, Inc. $1,156,253
Lyon- Coffey Rural Electric Co-Op Inc. $82,772
Midwest Energy Inc. $12,811,071
Nemaha-Marshall Electric $2,586,181
Ninnescah Rural Electric Assoc Inc. $2,586,226
Prairie Land Electric Cooperative Inc. $184,668
Rolling Hills Electric Cooperative Inc. $2,009,902
Sedgwick Co. Electric Cooperative Inc. $52,307
Southern Power Electric Company $990,838
Sunflower Electric Power Company $294
Twin Valley Electric Cooperative $743,380
Victory Electric Cooperative Inc. $626,238
Western Cooperative Electric Assoc. $390,309
Wheatland Electric Cooperative Inc. $451,230

Rural Electric Cooperatives Subtotal $48,587,286

Municipal Utilities

Alma, City of Alma Electric Department $6,258
Arma, City of Arma Electric Department $3,106
Axtell, City of Axtell Electric Department $11,430
Centralia, City of Centralia Electric $31,758
Chapman, City Of Chapman Electric Department $15,099
Chase, City of $2,801
Chetopa, City of Chetopa Electric Department $252,846
Clay Center, BPU $269,864
Columbus, City of $12,992
Delia, City of $500
Ellinwood, City of Ellinwood Electric $14,804
Enterprise, City of Enterprise Electric $6,938
Glasco, City of Glasco Electric Department $15,434
Herington, City of Herington Electric $119,416
Hillsboro, City of Hillsboro Electric $27,302
Hoisington, City of Hosington Electric $20,340
Holton, City of Holton Electric $433,369
Holyrood,City of Holyrood Electric $11,671
Horton City of Horton Electric $89,923
Iuka, City of Iuka Electric $4,868
Kingman, City of Kingman Electric $3,224
Larned, City of Larned Electric $70,384
Lindsborg, City of Lindsborg $17,098
McPherson, City Board of Public Works $342,210
Minneapolis, City of Minneapolis Electric $45,0320
Morrill, City of Morrill Electric $59,149
Moundridge, City of Electric $11,661
Muscotah, City of Muscotah Electric $7,228
Pratt, City of $332,328
Radium, City of Radium Electric Department $1,480
Robinson, City of Robinson Electric Department $20,056
Russell, City of Russell Electric Department $101,247
Sabetha, City of $654,148
Seneca, City of Seneca Electric Department $51,768
Seward, City of Seward Electric Department $3,212
St. John, City of St. John’s Electric Department $18,904
St. Mary, City of St Mary’s Electric Department $25,082
Stafford, City of Stafford Electric Department $98,620
Sterling, City of Sterling Electric Department $106,063
Summerfield, City of Summerfield Electric $13,070
Troy, City of Troy Electric $151,635
Vermillion, City of Vermillion Electric $10,795
Wamego, City of Wamego Electric Department $115,572
Washington, City of Washington Electric $24,436
Waterville, City of Waterville $26,049
Wathena, City of Wathena Electric $13,494

Municipal Utilities subtotal $3,674,663

Tribal Electrical Utilities

Kickapoo Tribe $6,650

Tribal Electrical Utilities subtotal $6,650

Total $52,268,598

The funding is being provided under FEMA’s Public Assistance program. Local governments that qualify can be reimbursed for the cost of eligible repair or replacement of publicly owned facilities damaged by the event. FEMA’s Public Assistance program pays 75 percent of the eligible costs. The State pays 10 percent while the remaining 15 percent is the responsibility of the local entity.

Once FEMA obligates funds to the state, further management of the assistance, including disbursement to applicants is the responsibility of the State, in accordance with the state Public Assistance administrative plan. FEMA will continue to monitor the recovery progress to ensure the timely delivery of eligible assistance and compliance with the law and regulations.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 24285439 - wibw.com/a?a=24285439
Gray Television, Inc.