PITTSBURG, Kan. (AP) _ Kansas Triple-A is calling for changes in teen driving laws.
AAA Kansas vice president Jim Hanni said Thursday that Kansas allows young people to begin driving too soon and doesn't give them enough practice time. He says the minimum driving age should be raised to 15, and learner's permits should span one year.
Kansas allows 14-year-olds to pursue a farm permit. Most Kansas teens begin with a learner's permit at age 15, and 16-year-olds are eligible for an unrestricted driver's license.
In a speech before the Kiwanis Club in Pittsburg, Hanni said AAA also wants to ban the use of electronic devices while driving for those under age 18.
The group also suggests a six-month intermediate license that would limit teen driving after 9 p.m. and allow one passenger.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.