Governor Declares Drought Warnings and Watches in Kansas Counties

Governor Sebelius has declared drought warnings and watches in several Kansas counties Wednesday.

“While much of Kansas has seen decent amounts of rainfall, we still have some counties in Western Kansas that are facing or experiencing a drought,” Sebelius said. “We will continue to watch the situation closely and do what we can to avoid significant water shortages.”

The U.S. Drought Monitor is showing extreme drought in five southwest counties with abnormally dry to severe drought in the far west and the southwest parts of the state.

As a result, Sebelius declared a drought warning in five southwest counties and a drought watch in eight surrounding counties. This action was recommended by Tracy Streeter, Director of the Kansas Water Office and Chair of the Governor’s Drought Response Team and made via Executive Order 08-07, which can be found at

The executive order will remain in effect for 60 days or until revised or rescinded by a subsequent executive order. Effective immediately:

Declare a drought warning or drought watch for the counties identified below;
Authorize and direct all agencies under the jurisdiction of the governor to implement the appropriate watch or warning-level drought response actions assigned to them in the Operations Plan of the Governor’s Drought Response Team.

For more detailed information about current conditions, see the Kansas Climate Summary and Drought Report on the Kansas Water Office web site at

County drought stage declarations:

Drought Warning: Grant, Hamilton, Morton, Stanton and Stevens.

Drought Watch: Finney, Greeley, Haskell, Kearney, Meade, Scott, Seward and Wichita

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 19811574 -
Gray Television, Inc.