Moran, Moore File for Re-election to Congress

By: AP
By: AP

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) _ Reps. Jerry Moran and Dennis Moore have guaranteed their spots on the ballot as they run for re-election to Congress this year.

Both filed for office this week by paying a $1,672 fee with the Kansas secretary of state's office.

Moran, a Republican, is seeking another term in the 1st District of western Kansas. He was first elected in 1996.

Moore, a Democrat, represents the 3rd District, which covers the state's portion of the Kansas City metropolitan area and part of Lawrence. He was first elected in 1998.

Moran filed Monday and Moore filed on Tuesday.

Rep. Todd Tiahrt, a Republican who represents the 4th District of south-central Kansas, filed for re-election in March.

In the 2nd District, former Congressman Jim Ryun and state treasurer Lynn Jenkins have announced they'll seek the Republican nomination. The incumbent is first-term Democrat Nancy Boyda.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 19120229 -
Gray Television, Inc.