Young Artists of the Year Honored

By: 13 News
By: 13 News

The artistic achievements of high school students in our community are being celebrating with awards and scholarships.

Topeka Performing Arts Center hosted the 14th annual Young Artist of the Year awards Friday night.

Shawnee county high school juniors were nominated in one of ten awards categories.

The 2008 Young Arists of the Year award winners by category are:
Ballet/Lyrical/Modern: Megan Siebert, Topeka West HS
Creative Writing: Ashley Haven, Topeka HS
Instrumental Music: Emily Hochstetler, Cornerstone Family School
Musical Theater: Josie Price, Seaman HS
Vocal Music: Victoria Finehout-Vigil, Washburn Rural HS

The 2008 Young Artists of the Year scholarship winners are:

Josie Price, Seaman HS, $1,000
Ashley Haven, Topeka HS, $500
Emily Hochstetler, Cornerstone Family School, $500
Brianna Moulden, Holton HS, $500
Megan Sibert, Topeka West HS, $500
Caroline Stern, Topeka HS, $500

Other students nominated include:
Courtney Boman, Washburn Rural HS
Claire Crawford, Topeka HS
Mary Kenefake, Topeka HS
Bejamin "Hunter" Voth, Topeka West HS
Thomas P. Browne III - Topeka HS

The Young Artist of the Year program is meant to encourage students' continued achievement in the arts.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 18819534 -
Gray Television, Inc.