Firefighters Honored in Gage Park Awards Presentation

The Topeka Fire Department honored firefighters on May 7, 2008 at Big Gage Shelter House in Gage Park.

Recognition Awards were presented to Fire personnel in honor of superior performance, professionalism and self-sacrifice made while performing life saving activities, rescues or exceeding normal departmental standards of duty during the time period from February 1, 2007 to January 31, 2008.

The awards process began months ago with nominations by peers. A Recognition Committee then reviewed the nominations and recommended the level of recognition appropriate for each incident.

Following is a list of award recipients:

Medal of Valor – reserved for firefighters that lose their life in the line of duty.

Captain Anthony Cox * (accepted by Tony’s wife and baby daughter)

Medal of Honor – awarded for actions that put firefighters at extraordinary risk of personal injury in the line of duty or job performance that far exceeds normal departmental standards. Presented to:

Lieutenant James Seichepine

Medal of Meritorious Service - awarded for actions that put firefighters at risk of personal injury in the line of duty or job performance that exceeds normal departmental standards.
Presented to:

Shift Commander Rick Pardee
Battalion Chief Richard Woltkamp
Battalion Chief Cynthia Holt
Chief of Training Jack Collie
Training Officer Victor Polanco
Training Officer Craig Percival
Investigator Michael Martin
Investigator James Vollintine
Captain Paul Stafford
Lieutenant Dennis Bowser
Apparatus Operator Adam Appelhanz
Firefighter Brandon Crowell
Firefighter John Ridder
Captain Todd Williams
Firefighter Matthew Frehe
Firefighter Ryan Gay
Captain Greg Degand
Lieutenant Richard Moran
Firefighter Daniel Kress
Captain Darreld Sloan
Firefighter Dane Markham
Firefighter Jonathan Harmison
Lieutenant Maurice Watson
Lieutenant John Miller
Apparatus Operator Monte Akers
Captain Joseph Drake
AO Michael Gomez
FF Robert Waltman
Apparatus Operator Michael Ordonez
Firefighter John Failor
Captain Anthony Cox **
Apparatus Operator Michael Stapleton
Firefighter Toby Stickles
Captain Thomas Wolfley
Apparatus Operator Ty Forshee
Captain Robert Hix
Apparatus Operator Craig Habig
Firefighter Shane Harrington
Lieutenant Jason Broadbent
Apparatus Operator Bradley Mize
Firefighter John Crites
Lieutenant Scott Steward
Apparatus Operator Nesby Caraway
Firefighter Michael Fewell
Captain Michael Thompson

** accepted by Tony’s mother

Certificate of Appreciation and Merit – awarded in recognition of job performance, special acts, contributions or achievements considered to be beyond the call of duty.
Presented to:

Firefighter Damon Smith
Apparatus Operator Richard Sigle
Shift Commander Robert Martin
Captain Dawn VanEgmond
Lieutenant Wilbur Griffin
Apparatus Operator Eric Hander

Letter of Commendation – awarded in recognition of commendable performance of duties, contributions, or gestures made by personnel that are considered to be notable.
Presented to:

Captain Michael Morgan
Firefighter Paul Waggoner
Firefighter Austin Tonniges
Captain Daniel Meredith
Apparatus Operator Jeffery Reynolds
Firefighter Austin Tonniges
Lieutenant Richard Moran
Apparatus Operator Jeffrey Stanley
Firefighter Shane Harrington
Battalion Chief Edward Dewitt
Captain Clarence Simpson
Lieutenant James Seichepine
Apparatus Operator Jeffrey Steward
Firefighter Dane Markham
Captain Christopher Cervantez
Lieutenant Christopher Herrera
Apparatus Operator Steven Woolaway
Firefighter Ryan Gay
Captain Michael Troth
Lieutenant Vincent Carter
Apparatus Operator Sean McClain
Firefighter Scott Trachta
Investigator Michael Martin
Investigator Alan Stahl
Investigator James Vollintine
Office Assistant Diane Bean
Captain Dawn VanEgmond
Apparatus Operator Eric Hander
Firefighter Austin Tonniges

Investigator James (Rusty) Vollintine, Jr and K-9 Boomer have been awarded with a special Certificate of Appreciation from the Salina Fire Department for the “outstanding and exceptional service” they provided in a fire investigation on February 24, 2008.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 18756474 -
Gray Television, Inc.