KS Senators Approve Coal-Fired Power Plants

By: 13 News
By: 13 News

Kansas Senators have approved a bill allowing two coal-fired power plants in the southwest part of the state.

The measure links those plants to other projects, including a proposed transportation hub in Johnson county.

The goal is to attract two-thirds majorities in both the senate and house to override a veto. The Senate's vote was 24-10. That's three votes short of a two-thirds majority. But six senators were absent - including five backers of the plants.

The House adjourned Tuesday night without taking up the measure.

Governor Sebelius' administration has blocked the two coal plants since October because of their potential carbon dioxide emissions.

The lastest coal plant bill is HB2412

The 24-10 vote Tuesday night by which the Senate approved a bill allowing two coal-fired power plants in southwest Kansas

Of the 30 Republicans, 20 voted ``yes,'' five voted ``no,'' and five were absent.

Of the 10 Democrats, four voted ``yes,'' five voted ``no,'' and
one was absent.

Barbara Allen, Overland Park.
Jim Barnett, Emporia.
Karin Brownlee, Olathe.
Les Donovan, Wichita.
Tim Huelskamp, Fowler.
Nick Jordan, Shawnee.
Phil Journey, Haysville.
Julia Lynn, Olathe.
Carolyn McGinn, Sedgwick.
Steve Morris, Hugoton.
Ralph Ostmeyer, Grinnell.
Mike Petersen, Wichita.
Roger Pine, Lawrence.
Dennis Pyle, Hiawatha.
Derek Schmidt, Independence.
Vicki Schmidt, Topeka.
Ruth Teichman, Stafford.
Dwayne Umbarger, Thayer.
Susan Wagle, Wichita.
Dennis Wilson, Overland Park.

Pete Brungardt, Salina.
Roger Reitz, Manhattan.
Jean Schodorf, Wichita.
John Vratil, Leawood.
David Wysong, Mission Hills.

Pat Apple, Louisburg.
Terry Bruce, Hutchinson.
Jay Scott Emler, Lindsborg.
Peggy Palmer, Augusta.
Mark Taddiken, Clifton.

Jim Barone, Frontenac.
Mark Gilstrap, Kansas City.
Greta Goodwin, Winfield.
Janis Lee, Kensington.

Donald Betts, Wichita.
Marci Francisco, Lawrence.
David Haley, Kansas City.
Anthony Hensley, Topeka.
Laura Kelly, Topeka.

Chris Steineger, Kansas City.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 18714749 - wibw.com/a?a=18714749
Gray Television, Inc.