House Honors Retiring Chief Clerk

Topeka - The Kansas House of Representatives Wednesday, April 30, honored retiring Chief Clerk Janet Jones by passing House Resolution 6030 before a packed chamber.

She is retiring later this year and the 2008 Legislative Session will be her last. House members said she will truly be missed.

"Janet Jones is our Legislative Legend. She is the glue that holds this Chamber together and kees us focused on good public policy," Speaker of the House Melvin Neufeld (R-Ingalls) said. "Her knowledge of legislative procedure and protocol and attention to detail is invaluable. It would be easy for chaos to erupt with everything that happens during the session but Janet keeps us on track."

Janet began her career at the Statehouse in 1975 as the Reading Clerk for the House. Through the years she also worked as the Chief Journal Clerk and as a proofreader in the Office of the Revisor of Statutes. In 1988, Speaker James Braden appointed her Chief Clerk.

"It has been a privilege to work with Janet in the Kansas House," said House Minority Leader Dennis McKinney (D-Greensburg). "She has displayed unwavering commitment to the success of the Legislature and the democratic process."

During her time as Chief Clerk, Janet worked for eight speakers: Reps. James Braden, Marvin Barkis, Tim Shallenburger, Robin Jennison, Kent Glasscock, Doug Mays and Melvin Neufeld. She served nearly 600 different Representatives of the Kansas House.

Many former Speakers, legislators and staff members joined the House to celebrate Janet, recall her many late nights of legislative debate and wish her well on her retirement.

"Janet's investment in the legislative process in Kansas is unparalleled," Majority Leader Ray Merrick (R-Stillwell) said. "In an environment of constant change and frequent transition, her commitment to her career has provided unmatched institutional knowledge and consistency. We appreciate her dedication to procedural detail and will miss the knowledge, professionalism and warmth she exudes and thank her for her many years of service."

The American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries awarded her the Legislative Staff Achievement Award in 2000 for demonstrating excellence in supporting the work of a state legislature and strengthening the legislative institution. She also represented Kansas nationally by serving in several leadership positions for the Society.

Janet was born in Courtland, Kan., and graduated from Courtland High School and Kansas State University with majors in history and English.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 18438029 -
Gray Television, Inc.