Governor Makes Reappointments to Solid Waste Grants Advisory Committee

Governor Kathleen Sebelius has appointed Cindy Kemper and made several reappointments to the Solid Waste Grants Advisory Committee.

“Environmentally responsible disposal of waste, coupled with aggressive recycling efforts are key to being good stewards of our environment,” Sebelius said. “This committee helps communities throughout Kansas further their efforts to keep our state clean for future generations.”

Kemper, Leawood, holds a doctorate degree from the University of Kansas and is a graduate of Leadership Northeast Johnson County. With more than twenty years experience in waste management and environmental policy, Kemper is currently the environmental department director for Johnson County.

Also reappointed to two-year terms on this committee are:

· Chiquita Cornelius, Topeka

· Shawn Herrick, Topeka

· Stacy Neilson, Kinsley

· Joseph Pajor, Wichita

· Charles Peckham, Atwood

· Dr. James Triplett, Pittsburg

The Solid Waste Grants Advisory Committee reviews competitive grant applications and establishes project priority lists for each fiscal year.

The grants awarded by this committee are typically for the reuse of construction and demolition debris, recycling electronic scrap collection and reclamation initiatives throughout the state.

The Governor’s Solid Waste Grants Advisory Committee has awarded more than $15 million in grants since the program began in 1996.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 16834836 -
Gray Television, Inc.