Shawnee Co.'s New Baseball Hall Of Fame To Welcome First Class

By  | 

(WIBW) - The list includes two former major leaguers from Topeka, two highly-respected coaches, an umpire breaking the color barrier and a Topekan considered one of the best in the Negro Leagues.

Shawnee County's brand new baseball hall of fame welcomes its first eight members July 17th.

The inaugural class includes Ken Berry, Francis “Beany” Conwell, Elwood “Bingo” Demoss, Lee Dodson, Marion McDonald, Mike Torrez, Fred White, and Gene Wilson.

Tickets are $25 and are available online at the website: They also may be purchased from the Apple Market stores in Topeka and Auburn, or by calling Shawnee County Parks and Rec at 785-251-2658.

Organizer Bob Fidler and inductee Ken Berry discussed the event on 13 News at 4.