Senate, Governor Honor National Scholarship Winners

By  | 

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) - A quartet of Kansas students drove to the Statehouse Wednesday to collect serious scholarships from a car company,

The four are among 100 national winners of the Buick Achiever National Scholarship Program. It is funded by the General Motors Foundation.

Buddy Lisk of Harveyville and Dalton Porter of Clyde are attending Kansas State University; Trina Durham of Kansas City goes to University of Missouri - Kansas City; and Kelsey Kilburn of Lawrence is a student at Newman University.

They and their families were recognized in the State Senate Wednesday before meeting Gov. Sam Brownback.

Each will receive up to $25,000 a year, which is renewable for four years.

The program focuses on students studying science, technology, engineering and math.

The GM Foundation also awarded another 16 Kansas students with $2000 education grants.